Every month or two we hold a random draw to give prizes away to our facebook friends. For us, it’s a little way to show some appreciation for the support you guys give us and make connections with cool people.

Bjornik was the winner of our Summer draw and we were so pleased to send him a little happy in the form of a Hong Kong Limited Edition Mini Gup Gup and a Mini DIY. When we later found out what a brilliant artist Bjornik is, we felt that we were the real winners in the prize draw!

Checkout the interview below to find out a little more about Bjornik, and to see more of his wonderful work, head on over to http://bjornik.com/.

GG: Tell us a little about yourself. Where are you from, and where did you receive your art training?

OB: I’m Otto Björnik and I’m from the Philippines. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always loved drawing and wanted to be a realist painter. I didn’t have a formal art training though I had two minor subjects in architectural rendering when I was still taking up architecture in the University of the Philippines, Diliman.

GG: Where do you go for inspiration?

OB: I get my inspiration from the unique experiences I had when I was a kid. Everything else comes from ordinary things and everyday experiences.

GG: What would your dream project be?

OB: To create my own brand and make an animated film with my own style.

GG: What was it that you liked about Gup Gups?

OB: I first saw the porcelain skin Gup Gup and fell in love with it. I guess it’s the simple yet elegant shape that appealed to me the most.

GG: Who are your major artistic influences?

OB: I looked up to Russian illustrators when I was just starting out. They, and probably my penchant for realism and details, are what dictate my current style.

GG: What’s one piece of advice that you’d give someone wanting to work in the visual arts?

OB: Develop a personal style that you enjoy and see your self doing for a long time.:)

If you’d like to be entered in our random prize draws, just “like” us on our Facebook Page.

